PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know anything about RMBS?

Nepa
01-30-2003, 12:34 AM
Is it just me or is RMBS a sham company? They make money off of a few patents that they own. Plus, are always in court suing other companies over patent infringment. If I'm wrong please let me know. Thanks

P.S. They did have a hell of a day, up over 55 percent.

scalf
01-30-2003, 08:20 AM
/forums/images/icons/laugh.gif i have followed rambus for at least 3-4 years...lost a lot...i am not a lawyer..(i actually have to work for a living..lol)....but this appeals court decision should help rambus immensely....probably memory suppliers of ddr will pay a licensing fee...but ya do not know...they also have real engineering support,,,and some new ideas/patents in the pipeline.....it is true that rambus only licenses its inteelectual property,(and provides technical support to manufacturers, but rmbs does not make anything itself...and the powers do not like that...lol...i am adding to my rmbs ...but there is real risk here..jmho..gl /forums/images/icons/grin.gif /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif

Nepa
01-30-2003, 04:03 PM
I hope this investment works well for you and thanks for the info. I haven't watched RMBS for about 2 years and was just wondering if they were on the same business plan. I'm sure they'll do fine if they win in the courts but my biggest concern would be there patents becoming outdated. It almost sound like they need a pipeline like drug companies. Thanks again and Good luck.

scalf
01-31-2003, 07:35 AM
/forums/images/icons/blush.gif rmbs..a real gambling stock...has gone from 5/share to over 100/sh in past....holds patents on computer chip memory enhancements...when it lost a big court decision about 1.5 years ago stock tanked...but it does have revenues as some manufacturers have opted to pay rmbs their royalty to have quicker in/out memory...i.e. playstation II use rambus technology...