PDA

View Full Version : Opponent Modeling

CallMeIshmael
06-25-2005, 06:54 PM
Im fidling around with writing my own software to help analyze SnG situations.

Part of this is ranking the chances an opponent calls with a certain hand.

I've come up with the following top 25 hands for HU/3-way all in preflop situations. Note: these are not the top 25 best hands, they are the top 25 hands that you expect your AVERAGE OPPONENT (party) to have.

What do you guys think? (note, I have very little experience in SnGs, so Im probably way off)

AA
KK
QQ
JJ
TT
AKs
AKo
AQs
AJs
AQo
AJo
ATs
KQs
A9s
ATo
KQo
KJs
A8s
A9o
KJo

(Im not looking so much for small differences, but more for glaring problems. Sorry for the newb question)

Luminous Mist
06-25-2005, 08:08 PM
I hope Eastbay is in a good mood when he reads this.

Luminous

CallMeIshmael
06-25-2005, 08:21 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I hope Eastbay is in a good mood when he reads this.

[/ QUOTE ]

Did I break a rule or something? (I never post/lurk in this forum)

FWIW, I've purchased his software, and Im intending to use what I make for only personal use.

microbet
06-25-2005, 08:43 PM
You didn't break any rules and I don't think Eastbay will give you a hard time. It is just that your post is pretty vague. I think the problem of average calling and pushing standards is very interesting and I'm going to start a project on that question pretty soon myself.

As far as what are the best hands against the average calling range, you have put the cart before the horse. First we need to know the calling hands, then we can figure the best hands against them.

Also, there are some more detailed and exhaustive lists of how hands fair versus typical-seeming hand ranges. I don't know exactly where, try the search function on this site and on the internet in general.

CallMeIshmael
06-25-2005, 09:17 PM
[ QUOTE ]
It is just that your post is pretty vague

[/ QUOTE ]