PDA

View Full Version : Falling in love

DannyP
01-27-2003, 12:02 PM
As a beginner I wonder if I am falling in love with too many hands, not reading well, or just plain unlucky.

Online $5/$10 HE, with what appears to be typical weak/passive players. I'm UTG with K /forums/images/icons/spade.gif A /forums/images/icons/heart.gif , I raise, its folded around to the 9 seat (is that called the cutoff?)who calls, button calls, SB and BB fold.

Flop is K /forums/images/icons/club.gif K /forums/images/icons/heart.gif Q /forums/images/icons/club.gif ; Bet; call; button folds
Turn 7 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif Bet; call
River 4 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif Bet, raise....till its capped.

He shows 4/forums/images/icons/diamond.gif 4 /forums/images/icons/club.gif

I put him on a set of Qs at best, and more likely 2 pair. At what point should I have backed off? This isn't atypical...at least a couple of times a session I find myself carrying the betting, losing to hands that seemingly shouldnt be there. Do you just back off after the first river raise, figuring anything could be out there?

balt999
01-27-2003, 12:22 PM
BAD LUCK...plain and simple...you played the hand fine. This is just a case of a bad player fishing you out of a pot...I hope this player stayed at your table a long time, you'll make money off this kind of player in the long run.

pudley4
01-27-2003, 01:20 PM
There's nothing you could have done to win this hand. Your opponent decided he was going to the river, so the only thing you can do is make him pay to suck out on you. I think you played it fine until the river - however, you might want to consider just calling his raise on the river. If he's truly "weak/passive", he's probably not going to raise you on the river without a full house.

Also, you said "I put him on a set of Qs at best, and more likely 2 pair. " Notice that if he did have a set of Q's, he'd really have a full house, and he'd have you beaten the whole way.