PDA

View Full Version : help with analysis please - newbie using Lee Jones technique

strategem
01-26-2003, 03:05 PM
Hi all

Edit: lol... I didn't really consider the fact that I am referring to a book by the competition here at twoplustwo! Believe me, I know little, but I know that Sklansky and Malmuth are the twin Titans in the Hold-Em book world /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

First things first - this seems like a much better community than the other one I was just checking out /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

Also, meant this to go in the 'Beginners' forum... sorry about that - can/should it be moved?

This is an old story, and if someone wants to direct me to old posts as an answer it's no problem. I did review the first few pages on this thread. I am a beginner playing at the Paradise .50/1.00 tables, using Jones WLLHE techniques. I need to know -

a) my fold rate is remarkably consistent over my first 8 sessions, which makes sense since I am going by the book. I am folding 88% of my hands pre-flop - does this seem right?

b) My stats under 'your actions' are something like - fold on flop 76%, call 12%, bet 6%,raise 2%. I presume this indicates what I do after I see a flop. I thought that the last time I looked, they didn't add up to 100, not sure why, maybe this is a mistake on my part.

Now I have learned one thing in my two weeks of experience - losers check and call, winners bet and raise /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

I want to raise more but I am out so much!

my second question is predictable. I have spent some time tracking the actions and stats of the few winning players at these micro-limit tables. In fact, I have broken the rules and sought out the tables with these strong players so that I could watch them play (a cheap lesson on .50/1.00). I have noticed that their techniques are remarkably similiar, and that they don't bear much resemblance to the techniques I am trying.