PDA

View Full Version : Friendliness at End of Tournament!?!?!?!?!?!?!

imported_PocketAces
06-23-2005, 10:06 PM
I'm new to playing tournaments. Last night I was playing a satellite to a $700,000 tourney on PokerStars, with the last 13 players getting a buy-in to the tourney worth $530. Once we were down to the last 2 tables, consisting of 18 players, something happened that absolutely shocked me.

Play slowed to a trickle, even to the point of players with lots of chips stalling even when they were going to fold. This wasn't once mind you, but was happening virtually every hand. And the players with big stacks stopped playing aggressively, not raising the blinds of the players struggling to stay in. This was fine with me, as I was on a short stack. But it was a surprise, to say the least.

Is this something that commonly happens in tournaments not involving a cash prize? I think if I had had a big stack (and not knowing any "better"), I would have tried to knock out the players with small stacks and acted quickly, just to get things over with. Would that have been out of line?

dmk
06-23-2005, 10:14 PM
big stacks will stall so less hands per blind period are played and small stacks get blinded out faster (or forced to play a hand). in general, the shortest stacks will be found trying to fold into the $, and its a race to who gets blinded first

wegs the wegs
06-23-2005, 10:31 PM
The big stacks have no reason to play once they are down to a few players left to bust. Why be aggressive and risk, even if its a small risk, their almost certain path into qualifying. This is where you will hear about players with big stacks folding pocket aces. Its a complete opposite strategy to cash tournaments.

HoldingFolding
06-23-2005, 10:33 PM
Unfortunately, stalling is an excellent tactic for medium stacks. It's usually HiH, so small stack stalling is counter-productive, but they still seem to do it. This was not friendliness.

imported_PocketAces
06-23-2005, 10:45 PM