PDA

View Full Version : Educating other players and HOH II

Sean D
06-22-2005, 06:36 PM
I've been playing at this certain home game for about 6 or 7 months now. Its a small buy-in tournament that we play twice a week with about 10-15 players. I've had consistently good results, and usually finish in the money about two-thirds of the time. There are a few bad players, a few decent ones, and no really great ones. Most fall into the category of either weak-tight or LAG, though there are a few that can pull some moves every once in a while.

Early on, I discussed poker with these guys that I had just met, and made it known that I am an "educated" player. With my consistent good results, some came to me for advice and ask to borrow books. I've lent out HOH I, TPFAP, TOP, etc. and shortly after noticed an improvement in their games.

Now, HOH II comes out. I have been familiar with most of the concepts in the book, although now these are given a name, and these concepts are what allow me to consistently finish up top. Soon, these players will be asking to borrow the book, as I let them know that I had received it recently. I don't really want these players to "become hip" to what I am doing in the later stages of a tournament. And I certainly don't want them to be pulling these moves on me.

So the dilemma is, let them borrow it or not? The money is pretty insignificant to me, but it doesn't hurt. I usually profit a couple hundred a month. Is wanting to keep my competition weaker wrong? Even though these guys are my friends and the money doesn't mean much, I don't like to lose. Thanks for any responses.

Sean D

WhiteWolf
06-22-2005, 06:47 PM