PDA

View Full Version : anyone in management / business consulting?

Rhone
06-21-2005, 06:35 PM
So I've applied for a research position at a fairly large, business consulting firm here in DC. To date, they have had me come in for 3 sets of in-person interviews, 1 hour each, in addition to the 1 hour phone interview I had with a recruiter at the beginning of the process, for a grand total of 9 hours of interviews. This is my first time ever applying for a job like this, and I'm curious if this is "normal" in the consulting world. Right now, as you can imagine, it's feeling quite excessive.

Shajen
06-21-2005, 06:38 PM
This is common for some firms, they feel it gives them a better idea of what you're all about.

It's [censored] excessive though. Annoying too.

GL man.

kenberman
06-21-2005, 07:35 PM
I didn't follow your explanation of how you got to 9 hours, but...

I would expect at least 1 brutal marathon day, if this is a Mckinsey/Bain/BCG/Boutique or similar firm.

do you have a sense for much how interviewing is "left"? is this is MBA/management level position, or an analyst position?

Rhone
06-21-2005, 07:42 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I didn't follow your explanation of how you got to 9 hours, but...

I would expect at least 1 brutal marathon day, if this is a Mckinsey/Bain/BCG/Boutique or similar firm.

do you have a sense for much how interviewing is "left"? is this is MBA/management level position, or an analyst position?

[/ QUOTE ]

thanks for the good luck Shajen.

Ken, the 9 hours are from:

1 1 hour phone interview
3 1 hour in person interviews, day 1
2 1 hour in person interviews, day 2
3 1 hour in person interviews, day 3

it's not for a management position, it's for a research position. My understanding is that they hire a mix of MBAs, MAs, and PhDs for these positions. My sense is that I'm done, thank God, but I thought that after the second on site set of talks as well...

kenberman
06-21-2005, 07:44 PM
well, then go out for a beer, and good luck!

jakethebake