PDA

View Full Version : Brand new Omaha player, should I have stayed aggressive?

Baseballer02
06-21-2005, 02:18 PM
I'm brand new to the Omaha/8 game. I've read various articles on sites and am currently reading the Omaha/8 section out of SS2. I feel I'm finally starting to grasp some concepts while learning the game playing at Party .50/1. How does this hand look? Should i have stayed aggressive?

Party Poker 0.5/1 Omaha/8 (8 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is Button with A/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 6/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 7/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 3/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls, MP1 calls, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, Hero calls, SB completes, BB checks.

Flop: (5 SB) 5/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 2/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, UTG+1 checks, MP1 checks, Hero checks.

Turn: (2.50 BB) 4/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets</font>, BB folds, UTG+1 calls, MP1 calls, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#CC3333">SB 3-bets</font>, UTG+1 calls, MP1 folds, <font color="#CC3333">Hero caps</font>, SB calls, UTG+1 calls.

River: (15.50 BB) K/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets</font>, UTG+1 folds, Hero calls.

Final Pot: 17.50 BB

JoshuaMayes
06-21-2005, 02:28 PM
Yes, you have a nut, nut hand. I would always cap that river. Why wouldn't you raise the river? There is no way that you can be beaten in either direction, and you are likely to be quaretering your opponent.

Baseballer02
06-21-2005, 02:32 PM
I did indeed quarter my opponent. Because I'm a new player adjustting from Texas Hold 'Em, sometimes when the game gets very fast paced I'll have hard time seeing all my possible hands, outs, etc.

muse21