PDA

View Full Version : Money Management

Malachii
06-20-2005, 06:54 PM
Not quite sure where this should go, I figure this forum is as good as any.

I'm a college student currently on summer break. I spent my days playing computer games and my nights at Commerce playing poker. Poker is currently my main source of income, but I am trying to grind out a roll for the 9/18 Hold'em game because I've heard it's a great game and really soft.

My question is what percentage of my money should I reinvest into my bankroll and what percentage should I spend? If anyone has some general guidelines they could share for how they use their poker bankroll, I'd really appreciate it.

Onaflag
06-20-2005, 08:19 PM
I abuse my BR. But, like you, I want to take a shot at the 9/18 game in my area. I have decided to not dip into my online nor my live BRs until I reach a level where I can use it to leverage more profit from the game.

Sorry, I have no answer for you, but rather a common desire to be properly BRed for games bigger than 3/6 and $11 SNGs.

Keep as much as you can in your BR and only take out for expenses. That's really the only way to move up.

Onaflag..........

bholdr
06-20-2005, 10:40 PM
get a real job before you go broke.

sry, i know it's not what you want to hear, but if you're asking what kind of BR you need to be playing that game, i almost garuntee that you don't know enough about poker to justify your assumption that you can support yourself playing. but, if you must:

First, you're gonna want to keep three month's living expenses in the bank att all times. bad runs of cards can last that long playing live poker. this is seperate from your roll. your bankroll should be at least 300BB, more if you have no other source of income or fall-back plan. that means at least $6,000.