PDA

View Full Version : Checking a flush and straight draw?

peterc
06-18-2005, 03:12 PM
I'm UTG+1, have KQ spades and the flop is J9 spades with a 2 offsuit (3 other players limped preflop). The pot odds are 7 to 1 and I'm first to bet.

The poker software advises me to check! Can there be any justification for this? I'm a beginner so I don't know if it's a crazy program or something I've misunderstood.

silkyslim
06-18-2005, 03:30 PM
you have poker software advising you? Thats f'in weird. I'd bet

atnels
06-18-2005, 03:40 PM
Preflop:

I like a raise wtih KQs regardless of position. If it's reraised behind you and there's only a few players, I just call. If you've got a good multiway pot (>5 players) go ahead and cap it. KQs is a great multiway hand, so take advantage of that.

Just to be clear, you hold K/images/graemlins/spade.gif Q/images/graemlins/spade.gif and the flop came J/images/graemlins/spade.gif 9/images/graemlins/spade.gif X/images/graemlins/heart.gif? You have a metric fuckload of outs here. Overcards, all the spades... tens. I don't know what the software wants you to do, but I want to build a pot the size of Christmas here. You will win WAY more than your share against 3 other players.

Jaran
06-18-2005, 03:42 PM
Easiest. Bet. Ever.

-Jaran

PS-burn that software

Kumubou
06-18-2005, 03:46 PM
Your first problem is not raising KQs in that position.

The only way I would check this is if I was 3-bet by the person on my left, then I would be looking to trap everybody for two with a checkraise. If I raise and just get cold-callers, you are obligated to bet this flop. Checking after being the PFR looks really shady, much more so than just betting out.

-K

macdaddy991
06-18-2005, 04:20 PM
I tried out some software and it's advice was very weak tight. Bet out here.

TomBrooks
06-18-2005, 05:17 PM
I would bet unless I was pretty sure someone was going to bet behind me, and preferably the guy on my left so I could trap the field for two.

aK13