PDA

View Full Version : Your maximum expectation

FlFishOn
06-18-2005, 01:51 PM
I'm just poking around in the online MTTs and won a $33 event with 340 starters. Nice. But i make my living playing cash NL online and understand the financial angles of that really well. No so in MTTs.

Assume an average-skilled field in for $33. As a MTT pro, a really sharp player, what do you figure your expectation? Over $125? More? The time involved is keeping me away since i figure to earn more at ring play but I just don't have the numbers to make a solid comparison.

Also what's the EV of a $110 tourney? Is it 75% that of a $33 proportionally?

MLG
06-18-2005, 02:01 PM
A really good player online has an expectation of about 2.5 times the buy-in.

PrayingMantis
06-18-2005, 02:28 PM
[ QUOTE ]
A really good player online has an expectation of about 2.5 times the buy-in.

[/ QUOTE ]

I'd love to agree with you on this (or on any specific number, for that matter), but IMO we have very little statistically relevant information about how on-line MTT players (great, good or terrible) are actually doing, in terms of ROI.

For instance, as far as I know (also from reading these boards), there are quite a few well known and "successful" on-line MTT players, who are actually losers or breaking even. I am certain the opposite is also true. (edit: by opposite I mean "terrible" players who are big winners).

Percula
06-18-2005, 03:12 PM
Here is the way to max your ROI playing MTT, multitable a couple ring games while you are play the MTT. If you hit the final table you will have a very good ROI, but if you dont, you are still making money in the rings.

PrayingMantis
06-18-2005, 03:48 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Here is the way to max your ROI playing MTT, multitable a couple ring games while you are play the MTT. If you hit the final table you will have a very good ROI, but if you dont, you are still making money in the rings.

[/ QUOTE ]

This has nothing to do with ROI, only with $/H.

wiseheart