PDA

View Full Version : Hand from Home Game...I Need Advice

Petey Pockets
06-18-2005, 03:34 AM
Still a newbie here at 2+2, but want to get more involved. I want to ask advice about a hand I played tonight in an 8 person freezout NL tourney with my friends.

The game is normally pretty easy to beat with it comprised of 2 or 3 weak tights, 2 loose calling station, and only one tricky LAG that calls lots of raises and plays flops well. I'm really the only tight agressive player in the game, and I normally get heads up with the tricky LAG whenever I raise because he seems prone to call all my raises. Sometimes he outplays me when my AK or AQ misses, but normally I get chips from him when I make a hand.

Anyways, it was only the third hand of the night and we all started with 2k in chips and i was in the BB with blinds at 25-50. The tricky LAG opened up for 150 in first position, and two of the calling stations cold called the raise and I woke up with two red aces in the BB. I knew for almost a fact that I would get at least one caller even with a substantial raise. With around 500 in the pot I made a raise to 600 hoping to isolate the initial tricky LAG, depsite being out of position. Sure enough he called very quickly right behind me and the others folded. I hated being out of position in this spot, but decided to check the flop no matter what hit, because he would bet out no matter what hit. Also, he knows my game pretty well and knows that I'll protect overpairs with an all-in and I wanted to get the most value out of my aces with a check raise knowing he'd bet out with anything.

The flop comes 9-7-3 with two diamonds, and I check to him. He looks me up and bets 200 into the 1700 pot and I quickly raise all-in. He beats me in the pot with 7-7 and I fail to improve.