PDA

View Full Version : Extending a job offer - Help Please.

AEKDBet
06-17-2005, 06:13 PM
I just got a job offer, but it expires in the standard 2 weeks. I've still got some interviews, and I'd like to see how they pan out before i accept this first offer.

So the question is, how much longer can i ask for to think about it, and what is the best way to do it? I've already told them I've got a couple other avenues that I'm exploring, but what's the best way to ask for an extension?

(I'm a new college grad engineer, and it's for a large defense contractor.)

Patrick del Poker Grande
06-17-2005, 06:40 PM
Just call them up and ask for a little more time. If they want you and they've got time, they'll give you more time. If they don't, then they won't. The worst thing that happens is you end up with the same 2 weeks.

Apparently, you don't want to say what company it is, but where is the job? I'm just curious. Oh and congrats, by the way. Getting that first job out of school is pretty cool.

Leo99
06-17-2005, 06:48 PM
Yeah, what El Grande said. Companies are very strange when it comes to hiring people. Sometimes they take forever to bring someone in and other times they want you to start ASAP. The surely don't want to hire you and then have you quit in a month to go take another job. Be upfront with them, it's more professional that way.

[censored]
06-17-2005, 06:49 PM
Well the way it worked in the accounting industry during recruiting time was you told them you want to make sure you have all of your options in front of you so you can make the best decision and that you need x amount of time. For the accounting firms they had been through it every year and are used to it. I would consult one of your profs who is involved in recruiting as your situation is not a new one.

Sarge85
06-17-2005, 06:51 PM
I work in HR. FWIW

If you ask for more time, your just asking to lose this job.

Sarge/images/graemlins/diamond.gif

Patrick del Poker Grande
06-17-2005, 07:16 PM