PDA

View Full Version : A hand inspired by Ed Miller's post

Sinnister
06-14-2005, 02:02 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Maybe this is premature, but I think that you make a very valid point. One thing that I have found of my game is that I play too tight -- if the flop doesn't hit me hard, I usually drop it. The result is that I don't win many hands, and quite frankly get bored playing. Yesterday, I started playing two tables at once, which I think has vastly improved my game -- because between the two tables I see quality cards more often, I feel less pressured to play marginal hands. In any case, here's a hand I just had...

Party $0.50/$1... not too loose, for a Party table

Hero is the SB, dealt 9 /images/graemlins/club.gif 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

EP1 folds, EP2 limps, folded to CO who limps along with the button. Hero completes, and BB raises. Called by all except button, Hero calls.

The flop is: 5 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 7 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Hero checks, BB bets and is called around. Hero thinks about calling the gutshot straight for a moment, knowing that he was trained himself to let it go, however tempting it is. But then Hero thinks about Majorkong's post, and takes a look at the pot odds (around 12:1), and decides to call.

The turn: 6 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

Sweet! Hero checks, BB bets, called around, Hero raises, BB 3-bets, folded to Hero who caps.

River: Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Crap, hope he didn't have A /images/graemlins/spade.gif K /images/graemlins/spade.gif or something, but he has been playing as if he has a pocket pair. Hero bets out, BB calls.

Hero takes down $17.75. BB says, "y did you stay in?"