PDA

View Full Version : Patriotism, opinions and morals.

IrishHand
01-13-2003, 01:50 PM
While I am completely oblivious to the mindless rantings of a select few (or one, as the case may be), it has come to my attention that some of you may have some misconceptions about either my view of this country, or at least of what it means to be a "patriot". As such, I shall offer a brief explanation...

Patriotism
Patriotism, to me, is a love and devotion to one's country. I made a decision to commit 10 years in the prime of my life (ages 26-36) to serve in our nation's military, and it ranks next to my decision to marry my wife as the best decision I've ever made. I didn't do it for money or because I had no other alternatives. I graduated near the top of my class from one of this nation's top law schools. I had a rewarding position working in a district attorney's office. However, I decided that it was more important to contribute myself to my country and my community than make a pile of money and lead a nice middle-class existence. I don't want praise for this, but insinuating that I'm lacking in "patriotism" kind of flies in the face of reality.

Opinions
As an educated and aware member of our society, it is certainly the case that I have some strong opinions on governments and their policies. My opinions are based far less on what the media spouts out than my own private readings and research. The end result, evidently, is that I've developed a number of opinions that conflict both with what the media tells you, and what the government tells you. Does this somehow compromise my position as an officer in the military? Of course not. The US officer corps wants (and is full of) intelligent, motivated extroverts. My most heated (and rewarding) arguments take place in the wardroom. However, we (and by we, I mean officers) understand that we're simply wheels in the massive US military machine.