PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with SSH

AASooted
06-14-2005, 12:21 PM
I'd never really played poker before until I started playing on Empire early this year. I've had a tiny amount of success at NL 6-max, though the bonus is mainly what's kept me in the black. The variance is starting to wear on me, though.

I've been trying my hand at some .5/1 lately with no success -- nothing disastrous, but I'm not going to quit my job any time soon.

I picked up SSH a couple of weeks ago, and I've read through it, and can understand much of what's being said if I have time to think through each concept. Obviously, it's going to take several reads for it to really help me.

I guess I'm feeling a little overwhelmed with all the information that's in there. I'm currently using the charts for pre-flop decisions until I can get a better understanding of that part of the game. My biggest problem is post-flop. If I haven't made my hand, I can count my outs and figure my pot odds well enough, but that's about all I can usually manage in the 30-60 seconds I have to make a decision. Knowing when to raise instead of call is currently beyond me.

Since the post-flop information in SSH is proving to be too much to bite off all at once, how should I divide it up to choose what concepts to start thinking about next? Or is it the kind of thing that is best taken as a whole?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

AlmightyJay
06-14-2005, 12:26 PM
Welcome to the forums!

I believe I played with you on Party the other day (assuming your name is AAsooted there too), and I can tell you right now you're way too loose and passive. I've got you playing 40% of all the hands you're dealt, which is at least twice as many as you should be playing. You're also only raising preflop about 4% of the time, which isn't very high.