PDA

View Full Version : How to play this JJ hand.

ahnuld
06-14-2005, 09:26 AM
Playing 2-4 nl on royal vegas poker with a 350 stack. Pick up black JJ in the sb. 4 limpers when the button, a regual solid player (500$), decides to make it 24 to go. I decided to flat call, since I didnt want to raise and be blown off my hand or have him call and have position on me. Sure this may have been a bad call, so please critique it and include your thoughts, im new to this limit of play.

Anyways, one of the limper calls, (Pot 88$)and the flop comes 4 /images/graemlins/spade.gifq /images/graemlins/spade.gif7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

I check to the raiser who bets 64$. How would you play this han donwards or what would you have done differently than me.

(My apologies if this is an obvious hand but I need to get better at hands like these as they make the difference of winning or losing)

AceHiStation
06-14-2005, 09:31 AM
Without a good read on villain I check/fold. Could have AK and missed, or AK spades, AQ, or QQ-AA. I play the same and laydown to what looks like a confident bet.

Chr
06-14-2005, 10:42 AM
There is nothing wrong with your pf call and your check on the flop is fine. After his bet, just fold.

I don't know why you think the preflop call should be bad. Fine odds playing alone for the set and lots of rags flops gives you oppertunity to bet out.

thabadguy
06-14-2005, 11:02 AM
The pf call is fine. I would probably lead the flop, get him on the defensive if he has something like AKo or something.Reevaluate on turn.

AZK
06-14-2005, 12:00 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I would probably lead the flop, get him on the defensive if he has something like AKo or something.Reevaluate on turn.

[/ QUOTE ]

This doesn't work for me, when I try things like this hands I want to call fold (AK/TT) and hands I want to fold call (AA/KK/AQ/QQ etc...) what's the secret?

DrPublo
06-14-2005, 12:05 PM