PDA

View Full Version : Life after Professional Poker

AdamBragar
06-13-2005, 10:39 PM
I've got a question for all you working non-poker professionals out there. So here's my story....

I graduated college a year ago and having been working for the past year for a company that does economic policy research. I graduated with a B.S. in econ and I plan to get a PhD in econ. BUT, not for another year or so.

So here's the deal. I am seriously considering leaving my job and playing poker for a living for a year, for various reasons, but the main reason, by far being, I think this would be a fantastic once in a lifetime experience. After the year, I'd go to school (I plan on applying to grad schools in the fall).

The question is:

How do potential employers and grad schools look upon people who played poker for a year? Do I just ommit a year on my resume? Do I say I played poker for a year? If you're an employer now, what would you think? Has anyone here played poker and then gone back into the workforce?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Michael Davis
06-13-2005, 11:17 PM
"I went to Europe. I wanted to see the world."

-Michael

Alex/Mugaaz
06-14-2005, 12:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]

-Michael

[/ QUOTE ]

Nigel
06-14-2005, 12:07 AM
Just make sure you actually have been to Europe so you can talk about it whenb they ask you about your travels. /images/graemlins/wink.gif

henrikrh
06-14-2005, 12:19 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Just make sure you actually have been to Europe so you can talk about it whenb they ask you about your travels. /images/graemlins/wink.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

When you go make sure you hit up an EPT event aswell, haha.

Justin A
06-14-2005, 01:46 AM
Yeah definitely don't tell them you played poker.

PorscheNGuns
06-14-2005, 02:12 AM
How could someone with an undergrad degree...IN THE STUDY OF MONEY, not be able to grasp the sheer lunacy of leaving a job to "give professional poker a whirl".