PDA

View Full Version : How come everybody hates Lee Jones?

BWillie
06-13-2005, 12:39 PM
Although I am somewhat new at low limit hold 'em, I feel Winning at Low Limit Hold 'Em by Lee Jones is a great book. I always see people ridiculing it here for some reason, which I'm not sure why. It has made me a winning LIVE low limit player, and alot of plays seem to be quite aggressive to me. It does advocate novice players to take it slow then ease into more advanced play. Many times in his book he talks about how a novice shouldn't do this or that, but when you start to get a feel for the game he says you can do these things.

Generally speaking, what aspects make his ideas "weak-tight" and the 2+2 ideas so much better. I'm not being a smart ass, I'd just like to know what differs from book to book. From my experience, whenever I play more aggressively like some people advocate I tend to lose more. Maybe it is just a bankroll question and variance difference.

AmarilloJim1
06-13-2005, 12:48 PM
There is a link in the micro-limit forum FAQ at the bottom of the page. It is a book review by Mason and has some info about WLLH.

No one hates Lee Jones...it is just a book suited more for beginners.

Fit or Fold

- Jimbo

PokerMatt
06-13-2005, 01:00 PM
WLLH detractors don't necessarily say that you will lose money; in fact you will probably make a somewhat modest profit. I have never read the book but from what I've heard it tries to keep you out of potentially dangerous & complicated situations where a novice could incorrectly apply a more advanced concept and get burnt. Some of these complicated situations played correctly could be very profitable, however. SSH tries to get you to think like experts think by giving you the mindset of making +EV decisions as opposed to making less profitable but also less risky decisions.