PDA

View Full Version : Starting College Early

James Boston
06-12-2005, 08:49 PM
I just read a thread where an 18 year old just finished his second year of college, and another guy started at 14. I didn't want to hijack that thread, but I find this interesting. Is this a common thing? I can see skipping a grade, or something like that, but starting college at 14 and 16?

Subfallen
06-12-2005, 08:53 PM
I was homeschooled, my mom got tired of trying to keep me motivated so she sent me to college with my older sister. Based on my experience, I wouldn't recommend starting early unless the student in question is extremely gifted academically. Otherwise, the social deprivation outweighs the disadvantages of poor intellectual stimulation in highschool.

istewart
06-12-2005, 08:53 PM
Here (http://www.dutchboyd.com/)

DemonDeac
06-12-2005, 08:54 PM
i was 17 when i started

lawrence
06-12-2005, 08:55 PM
I graduated HS at 16, I was younger than every single senior and junior. I could have gone to college at 16 but I didn't, for various reasons.

James Boston
06-12-2005, 08:55 PM
[ QUOTE ]
i was 17 when i started

[/ QUOTE ]

Did you skip any grades or were you just a younger when you started school?

The Armchair
06-12-2005, 08:56 PM
I started at 17, and not because of anything special (I was born in December). Socially, it wasn't the best of things, because a lot of the places in Boston my friends went to were 18+, meaning I was left home on a number of first-semester Saturday nights.

I can't imagine being sub-18 for more than a semester; college would have to be the suck for that person.

Subfallen
06-12-2005, 08:57 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I can't imagine being sub-18 for more than a semester; college would have to be the suck for that person.

[/ QUOTE ]

Try 8 semesters bro. Yeah, it was pretty much the suck.

James Boston
06-12-2005, 08:58 PM