PDA

View Full Version : Please Help - I am at my wits end

CanadianAmy
06-11-2005, 06:53 PM
If anyone could please offer some guidance my play I would really appreciate it!

I have been playing online for about 8 months, and have never played a ‘live’ game. I recently hit a skid in my game that is making me really think that I should not be playing this game any more.

About 2 months ago things started to go downhill for me. To help understand why, I bought poker tracker. Unfortunately, most of my previous hand histories were deleted. I was tracking them in a spreadsheet and over about 14,000 hands I was running around 3.4 BB / 100 hands.

I have read and try to apply the concepts from Winning Low Limit Holdem (Lee Jones) as well as the Limit Holdem section of Super System 2. For a starting hand guide I use the SSHE ‘Tight’ table. Recently during my skid I have tightened up to try to stop the bleeding and have mostly been playing on the hands that are identified as appropriate for early position (AA – 77, AKs – A8s, AKo – AJo, KQs – KTs, KQo, QJs, QTs, JTs) and then adding more if it is late position and there are 0 to 2 callers in, or to try and steal the blinds.

I feel that I am pretty good when playing pairs, on the flop (although it seems that every opponent of mine lately is hitting their draws on the river). And I play my draws strictly by pot odds (i.e. if there are 2 or more people in I will stay in on a draw). However, I think that I have a serious weakness in my game when dealing with 2 over cards, that don’t hit on the flop. If anyone can provide guidance on how to play these I would sure appreciate it.

As for the stats. I have divided them up into three sections. Total, Winning (before I hit the skids), and Decline (my decline into poker Hell).