PDA

View Full Version : How do you make a conscious effort to improve your poker face?

mythrilfox
06-11-2005, 03:57 AM
I'm mostly an online player, but recently I started playing live more simply because it's more fun. My biggest problem is I have a pretty poor poker face - it's better than most people's but I still feel I am way too readable to anyone who's paying attention. It's gotten to the point where a few times I have had to actually take into account the fact that I am too readable and make fairly marginal calls against aggressive players. Not fun. It's by far my biggest leak.

Now, so far in poker, I can just find my mistakes and temper them out through focus and determination. It's a purely scientific process. With enough work, I can always make improvements in my decision-making, etc. But with my poker face, I really have no idea where to start. When I peel back two aces my eyes just flash, whereas when I peel back 84s I have this vacant stare. I feel like there's nothing I can do about it.

What can I do to work on this?

xniNja
06-11-2005, 04:35 AM
Learn to keep a straight face and make your bets methodical, that's it. The best limit players show no emotion, strength, or weakness... whether or not they are bluffing or betting for value. Become comfortable with chips; stacking, cutting, and placing... think of yourself as a machine.

Pepsquad
06-11-2005, 06:02 AM
With all due respect, I think "making a conscious effort" to improve your poker face would be disasterous. The biggest problem most people make at the low-limits I play is trying to appear completely disinterested with solid holdings (watching the ballgame, faking a yawn - people actually do that crap) and look like a gorilla on adderol while bluffing (pounding their chips or immediately splashing them out there before the dealer even peels the turn).