PDA

View Full Version : How long/much does it take to be a consistent winner?

ticks
06-10-2005, 11:28 AM
Im relatively new to holdem(and the forums),
been playing online for 4-5 months.
Mostly limit, but more and more NL.
Lately I've been wondering:
How long did it take for you to be a consistent winner?
(at low limit NL)
And how much did it cost you?

Im sure im not the only one wondering about this,
would be nice to have some sort of average yardstick to measure yourself against

gulebjorn
06-10-2005, 11:39 AM
Last christmas, I took the 10$ for free promotion on Royal Vegas. Within two months, I turned it into 600$.

Only money I ever had to invest was deposit 20$ to clear that 600, because they wouldn't let me withdraw without making a deposit.

I am now at 1300 + some pokerbooks that came out of my bankroll.

ticks
06-10-2005, 11:53 AM
Good for you.
Since Im asking,
I guess its pretty obvious im not doing as well as you.
But there must be someone out there who struggled before they saw the light?

gulebjorn
06-10-2005, 12:03 PM
well, if you play poker long enough, you're gonna have big upswings and big downswings. I was lucky enough to start on an upswing. I remember reading about downswings and not believing that you could lose for more than one day in a row.

You need some luck when you're starting out, or a decent bankroll.

theben
06-10-2005, 12:22 PM
time: about 2 months
cost: about 200$

then i turned it around and have been a winner ever since

webmonarch
06-10-2005, 12:23 PM
When I started, it took me about 4 months a and a $1k of total buy in to get it figured out.

I'm sure I'm one of the slower people to finally get it, but I had no read books until about two months in, and getting Poker Tracker was also a really important purcahse for me, so that I could see where I was not aggressive enough, etc. IT also helped me to really come to grips wiuth the relity that I had to improve my game.