PDA

View Full Version : a question

haimarg
06-10-2005, 08:57 AM
ok well im pretty much new to hold 'em (and to internet gambling for that matter), and i was thinking..
the way i play is fold pretty much everything except alittle limp here and there when BB/SB, except cards like AK, AQ, AA-JJ and things like that.

but when i get the AK or AQ and raise the preflop, i ALWAYS get called (maybe its because im playing microbet 0.1/0.2) so i get screwed in the flop with silly little cards and eventually find myself losing to a pair of 7

do i need to play more aggressivly after the flop? re-raise 3 times? am i doing everything right? should i not let the limpers see the flop? should i limp more? opinions please ...

chaz64
06-10-2005, 09:02 AM
May I ask if you have read any poker books?

haimarg
06-10-2005, 09:04 AM
i started playing a week ago after reading the FAQ and a friend showed me the basic moves..
i intend to make alot of reading once i get a basic idea of what is generally "going on"

chaz64
06-10-2005, 09:15 AM
I don't know if anyone can give you a "in a nutshell" response to your questions. You might want to read Jones' WLLH or Miller's GSIH.

haimarg
06-10-2005, 09:17 AM
could you try answering in general? :P

should i not play until i read those books?

phlup
06-10-2005, 09:19 AM
You're not going to be able to get your questions fully answered here. You are going to have to read some books. While many people will beat me over the head for saying this, go pick up Winning Low-Limit Hold'em by Lee Jones. It's a quick and easy read and will give you lots of the basics.

You've already got a very good idea of being tight during preflop play, but you need to start to understand why you should play the way you do and why it will pay off down the road.