PDA

View Full Version : Raising A4s for value pf

Maurader1
06-09-2005, 09:01 PM
Loosest passivest table I've seen at 1/2

This is my first time playing 9max as opposed to full-ring, didn't expect such a huge difference

Should I be raising for value in either spot?

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (9 max, 9 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is CO with A/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 4/images/graemlins/heart.gif.
UTG calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, MP1 calls, MP2 calls, MP3 calls, <font color="blue"> Hero calls </font> , Button calls, <font color="#CC3333">SB raises</font>, BB calls, UTG calls, MP1 calls, MP2 calls, MP3 calls, <font color="blue"> Hero calls </font> ...

Actually now that I think about it, I should only raise for value the first time around, since the original raiser might cap, and blow away the field. But then again, even if he caps, most hands will call since the pot is huge. Correct or wrong?

Losfer
06-09-2005, 09:05 PM
Call the first time, and the second time. I'm not raising this in this spot. I'm playing this hand partly for the pot odds, and mostly for the implied odds from making a flush. You hurt that with a raise here.

Maurader1
06-09-2005, 09:13 PM
How do I hurt my implied/pot odds by raising?

Are you thinking that if I raise, and hit a flush or a draw, it will get checked around to me, but if I just call pf, the SB will bet the flop, and I can trap the field for two?

Losfer
06-09-2005, 09:33 PM
The more I think about it, the more I don't like my response.

What I was trying to say is that A4s is not a strong hand, and you likely don't have much equity yet. What you want to do is see a flop as cheaply as you can and go from there. If the flop has 2 or 3 of your suit you're in buisness, if not you don't have much of a hand and you'll be glad you didn't put two bets in PF.

Maurader1
06-09-2005, 09:37 PM