PDA

View Full Version : Triple Draw High

henrikrh
06-07-2005, 08:56 PM
I know it's almost never played, but for some reason a friend at my home game wants to play triple draw high. I've never tried this before but I wanna come in with the edge. Anyone have some advice for playing this, short-handed, even heads up maybe?

thanks in advance.

MarkGritter
06-07-2005, 10:49 PM
My guess is that you are going to want to have a strong draw to a flush--- you have a lot fewer outs compared to a lowball game when drawing to anything else. So 3 or 4-flushes, 4-straights, and trips are probably the only worthwhile starting hands; two pair is most likely going to end up the sucker hand. (You are a dog when drawing to a straight vs. a flush, too.)

With 3 draws, a 4-flush will come in about
9/47 + 38/47*(9/46) + 38/47*37/46*(9/45) = 48% of the time.

A 3-flush comes in 21.6% of the time, if my math is right, so it is probably worth seeing at least the first draw if the odds are good.

An OESD comes in 8/47 + 39/47*(8/46) + 39/47*38/46*(8/45) = 44%, so it is definitely worth raising to enter with one. I would be careful after someone had already raised.

Trips are a little bit harder to calculate. If you always draw two, you have C(47,5) / C(47,6) chance of improving to quads. You have somewhere around (10*6+2*3)/C(47,2) probability of hitting a full house on the first draw, something like (8*6+4*3)/C(45,2) on the second, and (6*6+6*3)/C(43,2) on the third. (The true number is a little bit lower because you might see the same card twice and there will be only one pair of that rank possible instead of 3.) This is about 6% per draw.

Chance of quads ~= 14%.
Chance of full house ~= 17%.

Given that trips are ahead of four-flushes and four-straights to start with, they are obviously playable as well, winning at least 65% of the time heads up. You must reraise to drive people out, I think--- you don't want to be up against two strong draws.