PDA

View Full Version : I Hate Continuation Bets

Unarmed
06-03-2005, 07:06 PM
Well, that's not entirely true. A continuation bet can be a wonderful play in many situations. I'll give an example of one and perhaps that will help to display why c-betting may not be such a hot idea at Party SNGs, especially at the lower limits.

DISCLAIMER: Like many of you, I'm still learning to play post flop, so if this sounds like I know exactly what I'm talking about, I assure you I've been misquoted. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

A Great Place for a C-Bet

10 Handed, Blinds 15/30
You are UTG with A /images/graemlins/club.gif K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
Villain is UTG+1
Stacks equal at 1000 around the table

Villain is a solid ABC player, but a touch on the weak side, and a little too predictable.
You open raise you AK to 90 and get called by UTG only.

Flop (225) Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif2 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

This is a perfect spot to bet around 120 because:
UTG does not have AQ/AJ/AT/KQ/ etc. He's ABC and knows better than to call off a good chunk of his stack with these trouble hands. Also, he knows that stacks really aren't deep enough to call with suited connectors, expecially since he's not closing the action, meaning he may not have position PF, or worse, he may face a reraise PF from a player to act after him. He would call your raise with AK/QQ 50% of the time, while raising the other 50%, and with all other hands he will flat call and try to set up on the flop.