PDA

View Full Version : Starting mid-limit hold'em and need direction...

Lefort
06-02-2005, 12:41 AM
After being predominantly a tournament player for the past year I've ventured into the world of limit poker and starting at $10/$20. I'm by no means a newbie but I'm having trouble with situations that arise often and I need some direction as to how I should be handling them.

Dealt [Ks][7s] in the BB. MP raises, 1 caller behind, SB fills, so you're laid 7:1 to make this call. I've been making the call with this type of hand.

Flop comes [Kc][Jd][4d]

SB checks. Do you bet? Do you check-raise the preflop raiser?

I've been check-raising the raiser. Say he calls, as well as the limper. What turn cards are you betting? Any non-A or non-diamond?

And how strong does a hand have to be to 3-bet? And is it a common play to be 3-betting from LP with *only* decent hands (ie. AQo or 99) just to get the blinds to fold? Because I've been using this play often but not sure if it's effective in the long run.

When in the BB and folded around to the button who raises (looks like a steal), what kind of hands do you need to call with, and how strong do you have to be to raise?

Sorry for the randomness of the questions but just trying to make sure I'm on the right track with these types of situations..

Dazarath
06-02-2005, 01:07 AM
About your 3-betting question, it's more of a question of how often does the preflop raiser raise. I think in general, good 3-betting hands are AA-TT, AKs, AKo. If the preflop raiser raises 20% of his hands though, you could easily add AQs, AQo, 99, 88 and whatever else you feel comfortable with. If the preflop raiser raises 3% of the time, I'd say there's an argument for folding AKo and calling AKs or maybe even folding.