PDA

View Full Version : 7 Stud: common mistakes made in basic starting hand situations

King Yao
05-30-2005, 01:49 PM
Here are some basic starting hand situations where I think most players make mistakes in 7-Card Stud, high only. I’ll define "most" as greater than 75% of players in 10/20 and higher games – full games, not shorthanded. For each situation, A. is the correct way to play, and B. is the way most players play it. Please let me know if you disagree with any of these (I am still very new to stud, I could be very wrong).

1. Player has split K’s. A decent player with split A’s raises two after the bring-in.
A. The player with split K’s should fold.
B. Most players call with split K’s.

2. Player limps in with split J’s when there are two overcards on the board. An overcard raises.
A. The player with split J’s should fold.
B. Most players call the raise with split J’s.

(I was in a 75/150 game with an A showing. The player to my left brought it in with a 2. Three players limped in with J, T and 9 showing, respectively. I raised with my split pair of A's. Everyone folded. Does this mean this is a bad game?)

3. Player raises with split A’s two after the bring-in. A good player re-raises with a Q showing.
A. The player with split A’s should fold on 5th or earlier if unimproved.
B. Most players call through the River.

4. The bring-in is a 2c, and 5 players fold. The Player has split K’s and he raises. The next player (a solid player) has a A showing and he re-raises. (I had asked this question in an earlier post).
A. The player with split K’s should fold on the spot. But he really shouldn’t be doing that too often otherwise a sharp player will make a play on him in these situations.
B. Most players call.

nef
05-30-2005, 02:23 PM
1 Fold if you are certain I guess.

For question 2, I think, depending on dead cards, your kicker, and the size of the ante, the person with the jacks should have just folded for the bring in. After that I think B is correct.