PDA

View Full Version : Need help counting outs on the flop.

penisclaw
05-27-2005, 07:33 PM
I'm very new to the concept of EV and pot odds. Before about 2 weeks ago, I was playing poker entirely by gambling, and not figuring any odds or probabilities out. I finished SSHE about a week ago, but quite a bit of it was over my head. I started re-reading it again today, and I got back to the section on estimating outs. The ideas are sound, but the book does not give many examples of situations where I can see it in action, and I tend to learn best from example. So for that I turn to the experts here at 2+2. So I grabbed myself a deck of cards, and dealt myself a hand and a flop, until I had 5 reasonable situations with which I would need to count outs. I am going to post all 5 of them here. If anyone could take any or all of the presented hands and go through the process of counting outs, and explaining why each decision is the way it is so I can learn from it, I would be very grateful. And I'm sure it would help many other newbies in the same situation I'm in.

Hand 1
Hero holds: 4 /images/graemlins/club.gif 8 /images/graemlins/club.gif
Flop is: J /images/graemlins/spade.gif 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 7 /images/graemlins/club.gif

Hand 2
Hero holds: A /images/graemlins/heart.gif Q /images/graemlins/heart.gif
Flop is: 4 /images/graemlins/heart.gif J /images/graemlins/club.gif 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

Hand 3
Hero holds: 6 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 7 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
Flops is: A /images/graemlins/spade.gif J /images/graemlins/heart.gif 5 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Hand 4
Hero holds: K /images/graemlins/spade.gif Q /images/graemlins/club.gif
Flop is: Q /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 3 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 9 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Hand 5
Hero holds: J /images/graemlins/heart.gif J /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
Flop is: K /images/graemlins/heart.gif 10 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 9 /images/graemlins/heart.gif