PDA

View Full Version : Hand Groupings: Sklansky vs Carnegie

Jonsan
05-27-2005, 10:07 AM
I am new to the game, and looking for input from more seasoned players.

I reviewed and studied Sklansky's hand groupings. I also found the modified groupings from the Carnegie-Melon folks who ran their computer simulation. The changes made by the Carnegie people made sense to me, but I don't have the practical experience to judge yet. In particular, the Carnegie study showed that low/middle suited connectors are much weaker than suited Kings and Queens with weak kickers. Anyone feel this is valid? Ridiculous?

So, what do y'all think? Those who have reviewed both groupings care to comment? Also, how useful do you think hand groupings are in NLHE? Do the groupings need to be altered for NL? Should the groupings be ignored in NL? I read articles and opinions from a few folks who feel the concept of hand groupings is detrimental in NL. At this point, I am using the groupings as a starting point to gauge the relative strength of my hand pre-flop, and recognize rags.

All comments, advice, and input are greatly appreciated.

Jon

axioma
05-27-2005, 10:28 AM
I think Mason has refuted that 'research' pretty conclusivly someplace, no link for you im afraid.

diebitter
05-27-2005, 10:53 AM
I think in terms of real play, Carnegie's don't stand up. They'll either not be challenged, or only be challenged by cards beating them.

I think.

Jonsan
05-27-2005, 11:10 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I think Mason has refuted that 'research' pretty conclusivly someplace, no link for you im afraid.

[/ QUOTE ]

It seems to me that Mason has an investment in the Carnegie research being refuted. I am not claiming that the Carnegie research is correct, and I am not flaming, just pointing out that Mason is not impartial.

J

poker-penguin
05-27-2005, 11:48 AM
Well, yes, you didn't really except MM (and by extension DS) to turn around and say "OMFG we've been wrong all this time"