PDA

View Full Version : bubble trouble

tylerdurden
05-25-2005, 11:52 PM
I'm a SNG newbie, just experimenting really. I've played 9 10+1's so far, 5 on Empire and 4 on Paradise. I've placed 1st 3 times on Empire, and 4th in the other six. I have been playing super-tight at the beginning, and I try to loosen up a bit as people get knocked out.

Most of my 4th place finishes are due to getting short stacked, forcing me to push with mediocre hands. A couple of them, though, I wonder if I could have avoided by tightening up a bit.

Paradise Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t150 (4 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Hero (t1872.00)
SB (t1660.00)
BB (t1982.00)
UTG (t4486.00)

Preflop: Hero is Button with K/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif. SB posts a blind of t150.
UTG calls t300, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t750</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, UTG calls t450.

Flop: (t1950) K/images/graemlins/spade.gif, T/images/graemlins/club.gif, 7/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets t300</font>, Hero...?

This seems like a no-brainer push to me, but should I throw it away preflop given the call? Push preflop? I'm not the shortest stack, but I'm right down there at the bottom with two other guys. This looks like a good shot to double up, which would practically guarantee 2nd, and give me a good shot at winning outright, so it seems reasonable to tangle with the big stack.

bluefeet
05-26-2005, 12:11 AM
Hero raises UTG's flop bet all-in.

If he had two pair or a set, he's check-raising you.
If he has AK he's putting you in PF.
If I'm wrong....it's just bad luck.

PF: I'm not essentially min-raising big stack w/ more than 2/5ths my chips with this hand. read dependant, KQo might be a perfectly fine hand to push with, but this raise is going to do very little to get UTG off his hand.