PDA

View Full Version : I never play Party SnG's only PS & PR,am I missing out?

vindikation
05-25-2005, 12:09 PM
I just started playing the $20's this weekend after 6 months at the $10's. I've only played SnG's at Poker Stars and Poker Room and never played at the Party skins.

A majority of the discussions on this forum deal with the Party structure. I don't know if this qualifies as a Party vs Stars debate (flame resistant suit on), but I'm just curious to see what people think about NEVER playing on Party.

FWIW I play the $25NL ring games at Party to clear bonuses (can't use SnG's to do this) and play $20 SnG's at Poker Room and Poker Stars to clear their bonuses. I'm always trying to play at a site where I can work off a bonus because I don't have any rakeback.

So am I missing out on anything not playing at Party, or is this a matter of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"?

Iamafish
05-25-2005, 12:11 PM
I switched to PP for right now becuase the SnG's are shorter. But you also only have an 800 stack, so the variance is a lot higher.

It's a lot different, more than I thought. You have to adjust a lot.

revots33
05-25-2005, 12:13 PM
I played exclusively on Stars for a long time, because I liked the 1500 starting chips and the blind structure.

However, I decided to give Party a try and now I like Party better. The players are worse, the tournaments are quicker, and my hourly win rate has improved. The Party structure is more of a crapshoot, but all the fish make up for it.

I still like Stars, great site, great customer service - but I think you'll find, if you're winning on Stars you could probably win more on Party.

wiggs73
05-25-2005, 12:22 PM
i remember you mentioning you played on PR a few months ago in one of my posts about it... i've since switched to PP. i personally like it better because the games go so much quicker.