PDA

View Full Version : my first post - a few hands for review

Rob
12-12-2002, 11:47 AM
hi everyone. i've been a lurker for a few months but just worked up the courage to post. i started playing in january, and have played almost exclusively online. at first i got killed at paradise, but after i decided to really study and try to improve (and try other sites), i did much better.

now, however, i think i'm playing like a total maniac. my play has gotten so out-of-control that i'm really losing confidence. i'm going to post a few hands that i hope reflect some good stuff and some idiocy. any comments would be appreciated.

hand one: (3/6 online)
UTG limps, i raise MP w/AsAh. all fold to BB who calls, limper calls.

flop: 4d 3c 9d. BB checks, limper checks, i check.
this probably was a mistake. str8 and flush draws are possible and i need them to pay. my thinking was, if no draw gets there on the turn, one of them will probably take a shot at the pot, either by betting or c/r'ing me with a very likely worse hand.

turn: 4d 3c 9d (8c)
great, two flush draws now. checked to me, i bet, BB c'rs, limped folds, i call. good so far. i don't think he has anything. should i 3-bet? if he really has nothing i don't want him to fold, so i don't think so.

river: 4d 3c 9d 8c (Jc)
BB bets out, i still don't think he has it, i call.

he has Qs Kh, a stone-cold bluff. i win, obviously.

here's one more hand, which i think i played horribly.

all fold to me in SB. i open-raise Ks Tc. BB calls, heads-up.

flop: 9h 5s 3c. i bet, BB raises, i 3-bet!?, he calls. i think this was god-awful. i did it because i thought he was bluff-raising. but if he is, what can i beat? not much. this just seems like mindless aggression out of me. a huge leak i have is not giving up on bluffs when people play back. i feel foolish for making a bad play and i decide to play to the end to make it look like i had something, but not enough to win. this is just stupid.