PDA

View Full Version : Downswing eating my soul. What's normal?

RandBriscoe
05-22-2005, 10:52 PM
I've currently played about 30k combined of .5/1 and 1/2. If any of you remember my stats post (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=2318553&page=0&view=c ollapsed&sb=5&o=14&fpart=1) from a few weeks back, I was beating .5/1 for 3BB/100 after about 18k and was beating the hellish Crypto at 2.68BB/100.

Since then I have gotten pretty much owned. I've lost over 1/3 of my total earn and about 220 BB (including -65BB at the Cryptos in about 2 hours). Obviously, I'm not an expert player so my play magnifies the streak but when should I be making plans for what I'm gonna spend my freshly-cashed-out-roll on? I was under the impression that -200BB was about the worst swing I could expect but there seems to be no end in sight. Anyone had anything worse?

I seem to be getting a normal distribution of bad beats. Nothing unusual. Unfortunately, big draws seem to come in shorthanded exclusively. Multiway, they cost me 432 bets to see the river and decide they don't feel like coming in that time. My big broadways miss entirely or get drawn out on, JJ flops every overcard, QQ 3-way and both villains flop sets etc.

Before anyone says it, I am constantly trying to find good tables so I can't blame it on selection and I've already taken a week off and the swing picked up right where it started...

Basically my question is, how bad can this get before I am some pathetic outlier with only bonus money to his credit?

milesdyson
05-22-2005, 10:55 PM
Keep playing. Post hands. Downswings are normal, sad, and angering. Upswings happen. Stop playing if you're tilting.

Duerig
05-22-2005, 10:56 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Stop playing if you're tilting.

[/ QUOTE ]

mmbt0ne
05-22-2005, 11:15 PM
</font><blockquote><font class="small">En réponse à:</font><hr />
</font><blockquote><font class="small">En réponse à:</font><hr />
Stop playing! You're tilting.

[/ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]