PDA

View Full Version : Do you always push?

Atropos
05-22-2005, 06:08 AM
When I started playing sit&go in the late levels and bubble play I either pushed or folded my hands. Now I often do stuff like this:

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t100 (5 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

BB (t1350)
UTG (t1870)
MP (t1495)
Button (t1625)
Hero (t1660)

Preflop: Hero is SB with A/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 7/images/graemlins/club.gif.
<font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t350</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>.

Final Pot: t450

Is that proper strategy? Minraising or raising 3BB with the intention of folding if pushed all-in? I feel I have a big edge over my competition, and I dont want to risk it by pushing an then running into AA/KK/QQ. If I can play a flop it's cool too because in the later stages it seems my uberaggression doesnt work too bad.

What if an opponent minraises and you are in the BB. Call with craphand and outplay him or fold as if he pushed all-in? Or isnt there any difference because in most cases 2-3BB raise means pot committed?

treeofwisdom7
05-22-2005, 06:12 AM
your right.. 3BB raise

AbelM
05-22-2005, 06:59 AM
Yeah a standard raise is much better then pushing 16 BB with A7. If you miss you can even do a continuation bet without committing yourself completely.

Btw some random thought: the only difference between raising with A7 and a random hand is when you get called, cause you fold anyway if they push. The range of hands that people will call you with consist mostly of A hands with a better kicker, so you might be in trouble then. That's why i like to steal blinds with hands like 98s or something.

Unarmed
05-22-2005, 09:53 AM
In situations like this (marginal hand, folded to me in SB with &gt;15xBB) I just complete or fold because: