PDA

View Full Version : Funny? Lurker story. Thanks to STT Forum regulars!

SlackerMcFly
05-22-2005, 12:20 AM
Okay, so this may belong in OOT. I am a Noob (first post) and have been a "lurker" for a couple of months. I have learned way more about poker than I deserve or have a right to know from this forum. You regular posters have made me a poker fan (and a small profit) in the past couple of months.

SuitedSixes is to blame/thank for my foray into money SNGs, so I have taken liberty. Some of the other regulars have enriched my poker life and stimulated my imagination with their comments, trip reports and posts.

Thanks to you all for helping me attain (current) 37% ITM / 11% ROI since February. Just $11's and $22s mostly with a few flyers for giggles and less than 500 SNG's as a sample. Currently in a "variance" funk, the profit will return.... In any case, you all have helped me gain a love for this game!

So.... Read if you will and my apologies for the long post.

It was almost 6:00pm on a Friday. In fact, it was exactly Brunson six when I rolled up to the Forum Bar on Broadway. Weary from a week of Dolly Partons, I was looking forward to drinking and gamboooling it up with my 10-4s. Just a little sore from the ride, I got off of my pocket rocket and limped in to the foyer.

The sign on the door read “Poooosh”, another said “No Checks”.

This has to be the place.

I opened the door and checked it out. Looking around at the full house, I noticed it was Grampers and Pampers night. 40% of the crowd was over 70, the other 1/3 was under 20. Math was never my strong suit, but it seemed +EV to me.

Weaving through the crowd to the bar I noticed Sixes all dressed up. He was suited! Overdressed IMHO. I sat down next to him anyway and ordered a Yugo from the perky barmaid.