PDA

View Full Version : 2 common things I want to learn: Chess and Golf

BusterStacks
05-20-2005, 04:19 AM
Chess: tonight I witnessed a game between 2 "homeboy" types and was amazed at the strategy involved and the messages they picked up from their opponents play. This seems like something I would really enjoy, unfortunately I know literally nothing about chess beyong what the pieces look like. Yes, I call them horse, castle, etc. Is there a book for total noobs? Also what kind of time frame am I looking at before I can play someone and not make a noob ass mistake? How long until I might win? Any software?

Golf:
I don't like golf. I think it's boring to watch, and only moderately entertaining to play. However, I have never played an actual round. I promised myself I would learn to hit a decent shot before hitting the greens. I used to hit like 50 balls a day until my clubs got stolen. I feel like I should make an effort to become good however, because it seems like the white-collar thing to do. Addintionally, my dad (a very successful businessman) says he credits half or more of his success to contacts he has made via golfing. He is quite good and is often asking me to play. How can I make this something I will enjoy more? What clubs do I need and how much do I need to spend for something decent?

thanks everyone.

Popinjay
05-20-2005, 04:22 AM
don't learn chess imo. it's kind of cool but it's been majorly suckified in that memorization of a shitload of moves is practically a necessity to be good

Hermlord
05-20-2005, 04:25 AM
Nah, you can go a long way just learning some theory and using an aggressive approach. Obviously to compete you'll need to memorize shite, but who wants to be a chess-club geek anyway? Whomping your friends is more fun.

BusterStacks
05-20-2005, 04:29 AM
dude, i dont want to be awesome at chess, i just want to play my friends. if i had a 50% chance of winning a random dude who knew how to play i would be happy.

TimM
05-20-2005, 04:30 AM