PDA

View Full Version : Chat Window Tactics.

AceRat138
05-19-2005, 05:24 PM
I have recently been toying with chat room tactics to induce certian play in my opponents. I have found that If I talk about different books I have read/odds/hands like I am an expert on the game, people fold to my steals more often. If I talk about bad beats they are more apt to call. Have any of you used chatting tactics to your advantage? If so, post them here.

octaveshift
05-19-2005, 05:27 PM
There was a time where I used to use the chat to wind people up and make them tilty.

Now I find it better to shut up and pay attention and then punish them mercilessly.

gumpzilla
05-19-2005, 05:40 PM
The only thing that I use the chat for, other than fun, is to occasionally get people to show me their hands. It's particularly good, I've found, at ferreting out bluffs if you get the right kind of player. Make some kind of very specific read in the chat window that corresponds to what you think they're trying to represent. A non-negligible fraction of the time they'll show you what they had, and I think they'll do it more often if they've been bluffing. At this point I make sure to say "wow, nice move" or something along those lines.

Iamafish
05-19-2005, 06:34 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I have recently been toying with chat room tactics to induce certian play in my opponents. I have found that If I talk about different books I have read/odds/hands like I am an expert on the game, people fold to my steals more often. If I talk about bad beats they are more apt to call. Have any of you used chatting tactics to your advantage? If so, post them here.

[/ QUOTE ]

Dont waist your time. Worry about your actual game. Load up more tables.

Do you really want to HAVE to talk to people to win? Agiants a good player, it wont work to well.

Isnt this like tapping the glass?

Phill S
05-19-2005, 09:11 PM
If im short stacked in the BB, no matter what i get i always say 'im all in'.

Throws people right off.