PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some Math course suggestions

RandomUser
05-18-2005, 06:01 AM
Wasn't sure which forum to post this in, but I figured there would be a lot of Math people here.

I've always been Math oriented (Physics major), but most of my education has been geared towards Science/Engineering problem solving rather than probability/statistics. I've taken 3 semesters of Calculus, along with Linear Algebra and Diff Eq, but I've never had a course in statistics or probability outside of what little you get in Algebra.

I'm considering taking some statistics courses mainly to help myself with Poker (though I'm sure it will help me in school as well) and was looking for suggestions.

Or with my background, do you think it would be simpler to just pick up a couple of books on statistics and work through them myself?

If so, any suggestions?

chiachu
05-18-2005, 06:21 AM
im an engineering student myself, and classes that ive taken that have had some relevance to poker were:
basic upper div statistics
combinatorics
probability

In addition i think classes in game theory (economics) might have relevance as well, but i have yet to take it.

deacsoft
05-18-2005, 12:16 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Or with my background, do you think it would be simpler to just pick up a couple of books on statistics and work through them myself?

If so, any suggestions?

[/ QUOTE ]

Since you're a student, why not get credit for the class? I'm sure the concepts are well within your grasp. It seems like an easy "A" and a GPA boost to me. You have a strong background in math and are even interested in taking the course. Should be a breeze.

As far as suggestions... I think chiachu nailed a few good ones.

chief444
05-18-2005, 01:11 PM
I'm surprised anyone with a science/engineering major isn't required to take at least one course in probability/statistics. I know I was required at least one when I went for engineering in addition to an economics course that included quite a bit of it.