PDA

View Full Version : Running Well? Finishing 6th is not bad.

augie00
05-17-2005, 05:38 PM
My last 47 SNGs

Pokerstars $109+5 Turbo

1) 11
2) 5
3) 4
4) 2
5) 4
6) 10
7) 4
8) 6
9) 1

20 cashes for an ITM of 42.5%
$7371 from $5358 in buyins for an ROI of 37.5%? I think? Did I calculate that right?

My friend thought it was odd that I finished 6th so many times. I thought it wasn't odd, because of the style that is required to do well in these turbos. When the blinds get to 50/100 and 100/200 (around the time 3 people have busted) I really open up my game and become very agressive.

Generally, I either run into a big hand and bust or win a hand and cash, because once I have a stack the weak-tighties have no chance with the rapidly escalating blinds.

I am new to SNGs, how many does it take to make the long run? 200? 300?

gasgod
05-17-2005, 05:45 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

As long as you're still learning and improving, the long run keeps changing. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Most people here would tell you that a few hundred is nowhere near the long run. Think in terms of many thousand.

GG

beeyjay
05-17-2005, 05:50 PM
the long run is definitly in the thousands but thats only to determine closer to your exact roi. after a couple hundred you can pretty much tell if youre winning which it looks like you are. luck can only account for so much and hearing you briefly describe your play it sounds like youre playing pretty good in a general sense. You're ITM should be pretty close to accurate after a couple hundred more.

The Yugoslavian
05-17-2005, 06:12 PM
[ QUOTE ]
My last 47 SNGs

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]

My friend thought it was odd that I finished 6th so many times. I thought it wasn't odd, because of the style that is required to do well in these turbos.

[/ QUOTE ]

What is actually odd here is that you and your friend were having a discussion over any of your stats after 47 STTs.

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]