PDA

View Full Version : $100 + $20 at borgata

templar999
05-16-2005, 12:30 AM
Hi folks. First time poster. The way I played this, I might as well be a first time donkey. Apologies if I include useless information.

Thursday morning tournament at borgata. no rebuys. 25-50 levels doubling 20 minutes with 5000 chips to start. 95-100 players. by all accounts (it's my first tournament there), inexperienced players who overplay their hands and think everyone is bluffing. entirely capable of calling down half their stacks with middle pair, bad kicker. as an example, first level, blinds 25-50, fifth hand, UTG minraises to 100, folded to button, who pushes all-in with AKs, folded back to UTG, who calls all-in with pocket 7's. i think this tournament has a lot of potential.

Hand in question. SB is complete novice. on the first hand of the tournament, i saw his hand without remotely trying. i warned him. he continued to do it. so i stopped warning him. i'm hoping i get enough hands early to get the dead money; no way he lasts until the first break at the hour. MP1 seems solid. has played only 2 hands not on his blinds. unfortunately, i dont know his aggression level.

Hero with A /images/graemlins/spade.gif9 /images/graemlins/spade.gif in BB, 5100 chips. blinds are 50-100. folded to MP1 who calls. SB calls. Hero checks. we are all nearly equal in chips.

Flop (300): 6 /images/graemlins/spade.gif4 /images/graemlins/spade.gif2 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
SB bets 300. Hero calls. MP1 calls.
I am nearly certain SB is betting with one big spade. he's almost drawing dead. if he had flopped the flush, he would have moved in or made a big bet. if he doesnt, the spades on board would frighten him off from betting something like 76 offsuit.