PDA

View Full Version : when are you in the long run?

derdo
05-13-2005, 02:51 PM
Hey all,
Since I was 18, I am used to lose some money in some form of gambling or other. My favourite was horseracing which is very widespread in Turkey (where I come from).
I used to play a strange form of poker with college friends in Turkey (5 card draw kings or better with 32 card deck and strangely trips beat straights) and I would think I was a overall loser in those games as well.
Anyways i started playing SNG NLHE tournaments 8 months ago and in the last 6 months I started making some money.
But my old instinct was always telling me "Cem, you are gambling, there is no way you can be consistent winner. Don't get carried away".
The main game I play is PP $11 20 player tournaments. In the last 6 months my records show me that I have played 333 of these games and here are the results.
place count
1 29
2 22
3 19
4 19
5 16
6 20
7 12
8 15
9 16
10 21
11 26
12 16
13 13
14 13
15 15
16 14
17 12
18 13
19 9
20 13
ITM: 26%
ROI: %30.4

Even though these numbers seem amazing for me and I feel so much more comfortable with my game, that doubt was still in my mind. 333 is not enough for sample size, "Cem, you are a loser!!!"
At last, to convince myself I created a simple spreadsheet simulation. I simulated 333 tournaments where I am equally likely to place at any place (average player) and replicated this simulation 10000 times.
The simulation estimate for the probability of an average player to have a profit over $1000 is only 0.09%.
Based on this analysis, I think, I can conclude that, I am an above avarage player on PP's $11 20 player SNG's.
This is a happy day for me:) I just wanted to share this with the people whose posts here helped me improve my game...

Cheers.
Cem

J-Lo
05-13-2005, 05:42 PM