PDA

View Full Version : Time management

Isura
05-13-2005, 12:28 PM
I'm posting about general advice, recommendations about how/what tools you guys use to manage your time. I just graduated from college, and I've noticed nasty trend about how I seem to waste a lot of time these days. I was a pretty good student in undergrad, so I never really needed to take the time to learn time management (I got good enough grades by doing things as they came up). I'm not "working" this summer, as I've been playing poker as a summer job until I start graduate school in the fall. I suppose I'll need to acquire these skills anyways when I become a graduate student, so I guess I'd like a head start. Some comments:

I don't spend enough time:
1) Doing stuff with my girlfriend and friends
2) Exercising
3) Playing/studying poker
3) Cooking, general housekeeping (I live alone)

I spend too much time:
1) Reading OOT
2) Instant messaging
3) Watching TV (only about 2 hours a day, but I really don't like TV)

I was thinking I would use a spreadsheet/table to log how I spend each hour, for 1 week, and then analyze where I'm spending my time. But after that, what do you guys use to stay on top of things. PDAs, PC software, those personal planner books? Maybe buy a book on time management? Comments/suggestions appreciated.

edtost
05-13-2005, 12:38 PM
clearly you've picked the right place to ask for help on this topic....

TStoneMBD
05-13-2005, 12:39 PM
limit your OOT time to x hours per week. limit your aim time to x hours per week. etc.

MrWookie47
05-13-2005, 12:41 PM
Is this the point at which someone recommends spending more time putting it in her pooper?

swede123
05-13-2005, 12:42 PM
The personal planners/PDAs only work if you are willing and able to spend the time to set everything up and track it on a daily basis. Personally I wouldn't enjoy having my schedule this rigid, but to each his own.