PDA

View Full Version : Trying to learn Pot-Limit Draw

popniklas
05-09-2005, 09:40 AM
Hi all draw poker lovers. (You might have read this (http://http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=otherp&Number=1749766&page =0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=14&fpart=6) thread.)

After learning the basics of winning draw play and honing my skills for a few months at the Paradise $1/$2 tables which I now beat regularly, I have decided to try to learn to play pot-limit draw, since the game seems so darn fun (and profitable) if you're good at it.

The main problem, I suppose, is that I have very little experience of and knowledge about big bet poker. I am a half-decent NLHE sng player at best, and outright bad at NLHE cash games and multi table tourneys. Also, although I have become a winner at the soft Paradise draw games I am of course far from an expert on draw (or on any other form of poker, I play mostly LHE and have been playing seriously for only 6-7 months.)

So I realize I have a long way to go to be a good pot-limit draw player. If any of you could provide some assistance along that way, that would be great.

I'm going to post some hand histories here, and would greatly appreciate critical comments and analysis of them. Thanks. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

popniklas
05-09-2005, 10:09 AM
Some hands from today's session: (0.25/0.5 PLD, 24hPoker)

-

1: I'm utg w AA and raise the pot. One in MP calls. I draw 3, he draws 1. I get AAA. I check, hoping to induce a bet. He checks.

Comment: My try for a checkraise was a bad play. He would probably check down any two pair here and that is his most likely holding. Was my predraw max-raise too aggressive? How much should I have bet after the draw?

-