PDA

View Full Version : Where to start (in online poker)?

Schmag
05-05-2005, 11:53 PM
Hi. I've been playing poker now for about 6 months and I am loving it so far. I've read a couple of books, have played a few live small stakes (10$ buy-in) single table tourneys, and have been playing (free) Tigergaming.net. I am learninga lot but have hit a bit of a wall, I think, mainly becuase I have a fair amount of book knowledge (from the books and this forum etc) but not much of a chance to put it into practice. I play the live games about twice a month, which just isn't enough, and the tigergaming demo gives me no idea how well I can/could play because it's free money we're playing with.

So... I want to play for real money online and want to know the "best" place to go. Things to consider in giving me advice are

(1) I am a beginner: Some sites seem to have reputations of being tougher, and though I eventually want tougher competition, I want to minimize my losses, which brings me to my next point

(2) I don't have an abundance of cash, so I want to start off in much smaller gaes (meaning under a buck, not 10/20)

(3) I'd like to try out that pokertracker or one of those poker stat programs so I can try to improve my game. And hopefully the program will be easy to use and interpret etc. (Where can I get help on this forum with that sort of stuff?)

That's it. I'd appreciate any suggestions or comments.

NateDog
05-05-2005, 11:54 PM
http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/postlist.php?Cat=&Board=micro

look at the sticky at the top of the micro forum for you answers

ewile
05-06-2005, 12:02 AM
Welcome aboard.
Open an account at Poker Stars. They have micro-limit limit and no limit games and support Poker Tracker.
PM me with your screen name there and I'll transfer you $5 to play with. Why? Because I'm running pretty well and feeling generous.
Pay me back if you win.