PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for a 6 max newb?

benkath1
05-05-2005, 07:14 PM
I just started playing at UB and they have 6 max at lower limits. Being how that is all the rage and the 'most fun', can anybody give me a few pointers? I hate to brag and I know it isn't this easy, but the first time I sit down at a .5/1 6 max table I won 100bb in about an hour and a half. I have heard the variance is high, and I'm sure that's what it is, but what other things should I know?

Does being short handed make more cards playable? Do you still pay as much attention to suitedness, or are offsuit connectors playable? Do you ever draw, or do you need to be VERY knowledgeable at implied odds?
Wrong forum? Would the same post go over better in HUSH?

Thanks in advance.

Ben

milesdyson
05-05-2005, 07:21 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Does being short handed make more cards playable?

[/ QUOTE ]
Yes. I suggest reading the recent article in the 2+2 magazine as to why they are more playable, but it has to do with how much more in blinds you pay at shorthanded tables.

[ QUOTE ]
Do you still pay as much attention to suitedness, or are offsuit connectors playable?

[/ QUOTE ]
You always pay attention to it, but it does matter less in blind steal/defense situations. IE if you're the SB with ATo and an aggressive player on the button raises, you really couldn't care less that your hand isn't suited. Same goes for being the blind stealer. Does A6s play that much better heads up than A6o? Not really. I am also a lot looser from the SB with offsuit connectors like 98o and T9o, IF I know the BB is very passive preflop and there are players who have limped in from whom I will be able to win very large pots.

[ QUOTE ]
Do you ever draw, or do you need to be VERY knowledgeable at implied odds?

[/ QUOTE ]