PDA

View Full Version : Party Poker -- $5+1 vs $10+1 (screw the $5)

sahala
05-05-2005, 08:32 AM
If you're 4-tabling 22s and 55s or higher, or are one of the resident poker deities in the forum, you can safely ignore this post. This is directed toward the meek mortals that play the lower level SNGs.

I realize this is redundant information and completely aligned with what everyone has said all along, but the numbers are making sense for me in the Excel-chart-in-your-face sorta way.

Background: I'm new to SNGs and have been playing since the beginning of April. I've run through more than 500 SNGs with about equal doses of $5 and $10. This isn't a stellar sample size, but here are my aggregate results and conclusions:

* My ITM% for 5s and 10s are equal
* My average place finish for 5s and 10s are very close (within .2)
* However, the difference in ROI between the two is 16%, with the 10s being on the higher side.

This leads me to believe that (duh) the 10s are only marginally harder than the 5s. I believe the difference in my ROI between the two are due to a few factors:
- Rake. The bigger percentage rake itself takes up at least 9% of the 16% ROI difference.
- Attitude. I have a tendency to goof around more when playing the 5s, since it's a cheap game. Drunk poker is fun.
- More multi-tabling in the 5s. It seems more affordable to 3 or 4 table 5s. I've read a number of threads here that suggest that it seems reasonable to expect a decrease in overall ITM/ROI when multi-tabling.

Qualitatively speaking, I have noticed slightly tougher/persistent play on the bubble in the 10s. However, I filtered my tourney data down to 4th and 5th place busts in the 10s -- it turns out that my $$$ losses due to these tougher opponents in the 10s are actually not very much compared to what I'm losing to the Party Poker rake in the 5s.