PDA

View Full Version : Live $50 NLHE SNG Hand

DavidC
05-04-2005, 12:00 AM
This is the first time I've played a SNG in a LONG time. It's also my first live game for serious cash in quite a while, and it's my first time playing with these guys. I have a very aggressive image, but I don't think I'm seen as a sucker. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Players are relatively new to poker, it appears, and particularly new to tourney play.

I was playing a live SNG with probably 6 players. Two had been eliminated, and I'd recently been removed from chip leader.

UTG folds, button calls, SB folds, and I have A6o.

My stack is t115 after posting a t10 blind (sb = t5).
UTG has t220 and is the chip leader.
There's t25 in the pot.

I raise from t10 to t50, and the button calls.

There's now t95 in the pot.

Flop: J42r

I'm first to act, and push my remaining t75.

What do you guys think?

I've heard in the MTT forum that you should exercise a 10x rule, meaning that if you have less than 10x the blind then you should be pushing your whole stack in if you play. Is this true?

--Dave.

TruFloridaGator
05-04-2005, 12:05 AM
I would just check pre-flop, what kind of hands has this guy been limping in with?

DavidC
05-04-2005, 12:36 AM
Not too sure, unfortunately.

I know that he's raised with good aces and with high pairs.

That being said, he hasn't done too much by this point in the tourney, as there's probably only been 40ish hands.

Would the purpose of calling be to minimize variance at this point?

--Dave.

DavidC
05-04-2005, 02:10 AM
bump before bed... sorry. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

shejk
05-04-2005, 07:01 AM
Well, if I play this, I push it preflop. The ten bb rule applies when there is no limpers. Here, you need more than 11.5 bb to be able to play this postflop.