PDA

View Full Version : Wreckless bluff, or smart move?

young nut
05-03-2005, 07:10 PM
So I'm fairly new to NL ring, I'm usually a 3/6 limit player. But I have decided to try out some NL. I was wondering about this bluff on the river, please take a look at the hand.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $ Hero (10 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

SB ($124.1)
Hero ($110.85)
UTG ($141.15)
UTG+1 ($100.35)
UTG+2 ($100.15)
MP1 ($113.15)
MP2 ($16.3)
MP3 ($192.31)
CO ($50.9)
Button ($27.4)

Preflop: Hero is BB with Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif, K/images/graemlins/heart.gif. SB posts a blind of $0.5.
<font color="#CC3333">UTG raises to $4</font>, <font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, MP3 calls $4, CO calls $4, Button calls $4, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero calls $3.

Flop: ($20.50) 3/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 8/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
Hero checks, UTG checks, <font color="#CC3333">MP3 bets $10</font>, CO folds, Button folds, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $20</font>, UTG folds, MP3 calls $10.

Turn: ($60.50) T/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
Hero checks, MP3 checks.

River: ($60.50) 8/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $40</font>.....

In this hand, villian who bet the flop was a pretty tight VPIP player who seemed to play a very standard preflop game. I had been at this table for over 150 hands. I figured his hands he would call an EP raise with here were medium pocket pairs and higher, or high broadway cards. Assuming that, his bet on the flop made me 70% sure he was on an overpair. The c/r on the flop was for flush value and to take control of the hand, and for protection of my overcards.